KS recently asked me to name for her the top three things I’d ever eaten. The first two were fairly easy, but sifting through all the delicious foods that have passed through my lips to determine a third was actually really hard. I’ve had a lot of amazing food, after all, and I didn’t want to give credit to something that perhaps didn’t deserve it or forget about something that did.

This exercise in remembering reminded me of one of my most favorite Food Network shows; “The Best Thing I Ever Ate.” If you’ve never seen it, the general idea is for you to see where all these famous foodies/chefs/purveyors of sweets eat, where the best meals they’ve had reside, so you can eat the same thing.

Well, no offense to these people, whose heads are apparently in the clouds, but I won’t be eating at any of those restaurants any time soon. I feel really happy that Ted Allen found the most delicious dehydrated egg yolks in a de-constructed eggs benedict somewhere in New York City, but I have no travel plans that include NYC and I probably wouldn’t be able to afford it once I got there. So I’ve decided to share with you the best things I’ve ever eaten, in a short series, and the best part is that you will absolutely be able to afford and eat them.

I hope you enjoy this small culinary trip I’ll be taking. It will be a five-post series, mostly so you don’t get bored with the concept, and will basically only cover the western portion of the United States, which isn’t a bad thing if you live on, say, the Eastern seaboard. Just come on by — we’d love to have you.

