First of all, I need to say that in reality I am not much of an ice cream person. I don’t like really cold foods (I have sensitive little teeth, don’tcha know) and typically when I’m craving something sweet, it’s more along the lines of flourless chocolate cake with raspberry coulis and homemade whipped cream. Lest you think I have a flourless chocolate cake in my kitchen 24/7, usually I have to be satisfied by a glass of chocolate milk or some chocolate chips straight out of the bag.

But every once in awhile, I get a strong hankering for ice cream that’s extremely pervasive and cannot be taken care of by anything other than the smooth, creamy, ice cold stuff. For the past few weeks I’ve made sure we had a small carton of it in our freezer and have big Sub Zero Ice Cream plans next weekend. The other night I thought to myself, “I wish I had some ice cream” and then realized I totally had some in the kitchen, just steps away. That made for an excellent evening.

Photo courtesy of gettyimages.com

I don’t know about you, but I like my ice cream to be filled with stuff. Nuts, mini candies, fudge ripple, marshmallow creme, caramel, cookie crumbles — I love it all. I also like to eat it straight out of the container; not in that “I’ve now marked my territory” sort of way, but in that “I don’t want to create any more dishes than I have to and we never have guests over anyhow” sort of way. And, finally, (this is the most important part) I eat all the good stuff out of the ice cream before Husband can. That means he ends up with a container full of dips and valleys, but that’s what you get when you wait.

