First, a teeny tiny bit of housekeeping, namely that I have started a humor blog and if you are so inclined to check it out, you may visit it here.

So.

There’s a lot of confusion when it comes to bean dip on a table, and I’m not quite sure why that is. I’ve made it for multiple parties now, having learned it from a very wise RA I knew my sophomore year of college, and each time people didn’t quite understand what I meant. To clear up any confusion that may exist in your life right now about this, let me explain: it’s bean dip. On a table.

Before you start wondering about the sanitation of something like this, along with the potentially life-ruining post-party cleanup, I need to explain. You wrap your table in Saran Wrap. Tape it down underneath. This offers two benefits: one, people aren’t literally scooping up bean dip straight off your table and two, when the party is over, you roll the Saran Wrap up, throw it away, and wipe down your table. That’s my kind of clean-up.

You also need a hardy spatula to spread out the following: refried beans (it’s easier to spread them if you heat them up on the stovetop — just make sure you let it cool back down before adding the other layers), sour cream, and guacamole (in that order). And when the sour cream and guac end up getting smeared together, don’t fret because I’ve yet to figure out a method to keep them in separate layers. Top that with grated cheese, chopped tomatoes, green onions, and olives (if, you know, you’re an olive eater *blech*) and spread the tortilla chips around the circumference of the dip.

In the event that you have leftovers, it simply means you didn’t invite enough people to your party. No, really.

